top of page

World Art

Updated: Dec 6, 2022

For my final project in my CGT 245 class, I decided to follow the World Art path. This involved creating Mountainous and Valley Terrain, as well as a day/night cycle, lakes, and adding vegetation across the terrain.


The first tasks I completed were creating a working day/night cycle and the lake. I then messed around with the landscaping tool until I was satisfied with the results. For the desert section of this world, I mostly used the sculpt tool, but as I got more comfortable, I created a basalt mountainous area that also utilized.


I then worked on the foliage that covered the map. I downloaded the template: Vegetation Spruce Forest pack off the internet (I don't quite have the skills to make compelling trees yet) and added them to the map. I tried to have one half of the valley feel very dense with vegetation and the other half have younger and less dense foliage, to give off the feeling that something happened that killed a lot of trees on that side of the forest.


Unfortunately, my green bean of a laptop doesn't have the graphics card or RAM to play at a fast speed, and I had to disable the wind settings on the foliage to even allow it to run.



Some changes I'm hoping to make in the future include painting the landscape to look a bit more like forest soil, blending some stony and dirt textures.

13 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page